DeWitt County voters choose Republicans across the board

All state-level Democrats reelected to office

CLINTON — In contested races in Tuesday’s election, in DeWitt County, Republican Kathy Salvi, challenger, beat incumbent Democrat Tammy Duckworth in the U.S. Senate race.  Statewide, Duckworth won reelection to the Senate.

In DeWitt County, Republican Darren Bailey beat Democrat Gov. J.B Pritzker.  Statewide, Pritzker won reelection.

DeWitt County voters rejected the Constitutional Amendment question on Tuesday’s ballot.  With 30 percent of the vote in statewide on Tuesday, approval of the amendment stood at about 65 percent to 35 percent in favor.

In the race for state attorney general, DeWitt County chose Republican Thomas DeVore over incumbent Democrat Kwame Raoul.  Raoul won reelection statewide.

Republican Dan Brady beat incumbent Alexi Giannoulias in the secretary of state race in DeWitt County.  Statewide, Giannoulias won reelection.

In DeWitt County and districtwide, Republican Mary Miller won election to the U.S. House from the newly-created Illinois 15th Congressional District.  Miller will represent roughly half of DeWitt County.

All local candidates ran unopposed.

The unofficial results were posted from all of DeWitt County’s 23 precincts reporting.

Complete results for DeWitt County can be seen online at


Video News
More In Homepage