Local deputy among police academy graduates

© 2018-Clinton Journal

Submitted photo

The Southwestern Illinois College Police Academy recently celebrated the graduation of Session 133. The SWIC Police Academy is an intensive academic and physical training program designed to prepare recruits to enter a career in law enforcement. It is one of only six police academies in Illinois. Graduates included one from the DeWitt County Sheriff’s Office.  Graduates include, from left, front row: Officer Kyle W. Adams of the Mount Carmel Police Department, Officer Joseph T. Alletto of the Amboy Police Department, Deputy Jared T. Anthis (of Mount Vernon) of the Franklin County Sheriff’s Office, Officer Aaron M. Beavers of the Murphysboro Police Department, Officer Adam L. Brazzell of the Atwood Police Department — Winner Jeremy Chambers Top Gun Firearms Award, Officer Joshua C. Clarke of the Mount Vernon Police Department.  Second row: Officer Morgan T. Corn of the Johnston City Police Department, Officer Jacob A. Daily of the Granite City Police Department, Officer Rhea E. Flambeau of the Carthage Police Department, Intern Tyler G. Gallaher (of Belleville) of the Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board, Officer Jordan N. Holland of the Metropolis Police Department, Officer Aaron J. Hutto (of Caseyville) of the SWIC Public Safety Department.  Third row: Deputy Joseph T. Krasny (of Berwyn) of the DeWitt County Sheriff’s Office, Deputy Blake A. Peavler (of Olney) of the Richland County Sheriff’s Office, Officer Kyle A. Purcell of the Mount Vernon Police Department, Officer Leon E. Robinson of the Fairview Heights Police Department, Officer Micah J. Sensel of the Centralia Police Department – Winner Most Improved Over all in Physical Fitness Award and Best Over all in Physical Fitness Award, Officer Joseph W. Skortz Jr. of the Alton Police Department.  Fourth row: Intern John M. Sutko (of Oaklawn) of the Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board – Class President (now a Seneca IL officer), Officer Bradley R. Sutton of the Highland Police Department — Winner Academic Honors Award, Officer Cody E. Wall of the Mount Carmel Police Department, Officer Bryan K. Waugh of the Greenville Police Department, Officer Brandon J. Wecker of the Alton Police Department, Officer Christopher S. Westbay of the Venice Police Department – Winner Defense Tactics Award.

Video News
More In Local News