Reelect incumbent board members for the good of the county

Posted 10/19/20

Reelect incumbent board members for the good of the county

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Reelect incumbent board members for the good of the county


As a current DeWitt County Board member, I would like to share some of my observations of the incumbents running for reelection.

Dave Newberg, as chairman, and Camille Redman as vice chairman, have been two of the best leaders of this board in a long time. They pay attention to what needs to be accomplished and prioritize what needs the board’s immediate attention.

They are knowledgeable of the pitfalls of bad decisions and steer the board in a more positive direction. With their leadership the board has been a productive and responsible body with no drama or confusion.

I am the vice chairman of the Public Safety Committee with Lance Reece as its chairman, and I can say with confidence that his performance in resolving ambulance service for my district was an example of dedication to the citizens of DeWitt County. This was a critical care issue that had consequences for over 2,000 residents.

He handled the problem with a sense of urgency, spent many hours resolving roadblocks as they appeared, and always kept his eye on ensuring that the citizens were protected! Because of his leadership, those citizens are now protected and can rest well at night knowing they have ambulance service.

I have watched Jay Wickenhauser as chairman of the Marina Committee spend an enormous amount of time and effort to make the marina a more inviting and enjoyable recreational area. Under his guidance, the marina is surely to become a “destination spot” for many Illinois residents. This will not only bring exposure to DeWitt County, it will also increase revenue to make it an even a better destination.

Because of their performance and abilities, they should be retained to continue the forward-looking vision for the county and its residents. Your vote for these candidates is needed for the good of the county.

Vote for Camille Redman and Lance Reece, in District A, and Dave Newberg, Scott Nimmo and Jay Wickenhauser in Distrct C.

Thank you,

Christy Pruser

County Board Member

District B