Local teachers and staff recognized at awards ceremony


CLINTON — Seven staff members from the Clinton School Distirct attend the “Those Who Excel” awards banquet on Saturday, Oct. 20, hosted by the Illinois State Board of Education.  The banquet was held in Normal.  The following staff were present to receive recognition in the following categories:

Rodger Baldwin, teacher, Excellence; Barbara Gullone, volunteer, Excellence; Elizabeth Riley, early childhood educator, Excellence; Lina Riordan, volunteer, Merit; Cheryl Taylor, team, Recognition; Bob Svencer, administrator, Excellence, and Dauna Delashmit, student support, Merit.

Baldwin was a finalist for Teacher of the Year in Illinois.  He teaches science at CHS.  Barb Gullone and Linda Riordan both volunteer in classrooms at CES.

Elizabeth Riley is in her first year with the district and teaches 3rd grade special needs students at CES.

Cheryl Taylor is a teacher assistant at CES.  She was part of a team that included Dana Goar, but Dana did not attend the banquet.

Bob Svencner is the assistant principal at CHS.

Dauna Delashmit is a social worker in our district.