Clinton AmVets Post 14 investing in the future

Courtesy of Clinton AmVets — Pictured are the ten (10) CHS recipients holding a facsimile of their checks and a congratulatory letter. Also pictured are the eight Post 14 AMVETS who attended the ceremony at the high school.

CLINTON — Last year, Clinton AMVETS Post 14 developed a Dennis Davenport/AMVETS Post 14 scholarship program for local high school graduates.  AMVET Post 14 member Dennis Davenport requested that Post 14 facilitate development of the program to help children or grandchildren of veterans going on to attend a university, junior college or trade school.  Again this year, Dennis donated $10,000 to go towards the program.  

To qualify for the scholarship, the applying students had to be from a local high school as well as be a child or grandchild of a veteran. Once the students had completed the application, the AMVETS Post 14 scholarship committee evaluated the submissions. 

The scholarship committee includes Chairman Ed Beck, member Marvin Hubble, member Darrel Tucker and advisor Dennis Davenport (alternate Jessie Owens). The Committee’s challenge was to select ten recipients out of the 17 applications received this year.  

With additional funds from the AMVETS Post, there were actually 11 awards of $1,000 each, and three recipients from last year were each awarded $750.

The 11 $1,000 recipients this year were AnnMaree James, Tess Cooper, Sarah Hicks, Ryty Dupont-Barlow, Ann Mills, Brandon Long, Derek Long, Jordan Murphy-Leach, Olivia Bierbrodt, Emma Lux, and Jordan Owens.  The three returning recipients were Sarah Emery, Daniel Murphy, and Isaac Phillips.  


Video News
More In Homepage