Local P.E.O. group celebrates 125th anniversary

Courtesy of Woods Photography Studio — Front Row, left to right, Joyce O’Neil, Cathy Gordon, Elaine Smith, Barbara Strange, Jackie Smith, Janice Laramee. Back Row, left to right, Barb Lanier, Lana Ophorst, Patrice Brotherton, Monica DeGrauwe, Vanessa Ophorst (President), Sara Jenkins-Smith, Krista Rohrscheib, Pam Graves, Chris Shaffer, Jessica Devore.

CLINTON — Chapter B, P.E.O. celebrated its 125th anniversary, on Sunday, December 8, in the Revere Room of the Vespasian Warner Public Library.

Chapter B is the second oldest P.E.O. Chapter in the State of Illinois. 

The P.E.O. Sisterhood is part of Cottey College, Nevada, Mo., the only nonsectarian college in the nation owned and supported by women, for women. The P.E.O. Sisterhood is a philanthropic educational organization whose goal is the support the advancement of women’s education.

Listed are members not pictured in the above photo:

Brenda Borland, Sue Calvert, Mariah Crutchfield, Valerie Crutchfield, Carol Davenport, Connie Finney, Miranda Freeman, Connie Harris, Sharon Ijams, Nancy Lamkin, Julie Lappin, Nancy Lareau, Robin Lecouris, Tammy Marks, Nancy Martin, Kathy Myers, Stefanie Runyen, Ann Rybolt, Karen Steward, Davida Stivers, Betsy Taubert, and Linda Taylor.


More In Community