DeWitt County 4-H members earn State Fair awards

Posted 8/22/19

DeWitt County 4-H members earn State Fair awards

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

DeWitt County 4-H members earn State Fair awards


CLINTON – Dewitt County 4-H members recently participated in the 4-H general projects show at the Illinois State Fair in Springfield on August 12. 

Dewitt County 4-H members brought home four Inspire awards, six champion awards and five reserve champion awards. Out of 39 projects entered by Dewitt County 4-H members, 20 projects were selected as outstanding which denotes an 80 percent or above received on the score sheet. 

The top two scores in each class received champion and reserve champion awards. Inspire awards were given at the judge’s discretion for work they wished to highlight or acknowledge. The Illinois 4-H State Fair General Project Show is an opportunity for youth to be competitively judged on project work, as well as receive valuable feedback from experts which allow them to increase their knowledge and gain mastery in a project area.

The following 4-H members received awards: 

• Katie Cunningham (Chalk/Carbon/Pigment Div A)- Outstanding 

• Briauna Hemphill (Chalk/Carbon/Pigment Div A)- Outstanding 

• Mia Villanueva (Design Decisions-Int.)- Outstanding 

• Landen Soliday (Electricity)- Outstanding 

• Callia Meyen (Floriculture)- Outstanding, Reserve, Inspire 

• Eryn White (Food Decorating- Beg.)- Outstanding 

• Tayanna Meyen (Forests of Fun 1)- Outstanding, Champion 

• Maddie Franklin (Leadership 3)- Outstanding, Reserve 

• Josie Franklin (Metal)- Outstanding 

• Lainey Nichols (Natural Resources 2)- Outstanding 

• Haley Wilham (Nature)- Outstanding 

• Jake Franklin (Open Source Computer Science) Outstanding, Champion, Inspire 

• Emily Wade (Photography 2)- Outstanding, Champion 

• Luke Franklin (Robotics 1 Int.)- Outstanding, Champion, Inspire 

• Adara Meyen (Rock Hounds 2)- Outstanding, Champion, Inspire 

• Gavin Raines II (Sportfishing 3) Outstanding, Reserve 

• Gwyndalyn Danner-Duncan (STEAM Clothing-Sewn Clothing)- Inspire 

• Natalie Smith (STEAM Clothing1-Sewn Clothing)-Outstanding 

• Anton Meyen (Wildlife 3)- Outstanding, Champion 

• Ethan Aughenbaugh (Woodworking 3)- Outstanding, Reserve